Jeremy & Alison

Dear Birth Mother,

Thank you for reading our letter! We are Alison and Jeremy and we are excited about becoming a family. We know you love your baby very much, and we admire your courage and commitment to considering an adoption plan. We hope that, with your help, we can give your baby a loving, secure and happy home.

About us
We met about five years ago at a seafood restaurant in San Diego and got married soon after. We planned a summer wedding so we could use the spring to grow our own flowers. We had a lot of fun growing flowers such as bachelor buttons, ruby red sunflowers, zinnias and dahlias. On the morning of our wedding, our parents, Alison’s friend Barbara and little sister Shayna came over to make the flower arrangements and center pieces.

We knew we wanted to start a family right after we got married because we love kids and believe parenting will be one of our greatest joys. Our two years of infertility have strengthened our relationship, and we are closer than ever as we begin our adoption journey. We can’t wait to become parents, and we feel adoption will give us the opportunity to share our love, stability, and joy with a child.

Our families are very excited about having a new baby to love and are extremely supportive of our decision to adopt. Alison has three first cousins who are adopted and Jeremy’s brother is adopted. Our baby will definitely grow up surrounded by love and support from us and from our extended families.

We spend most of our free time doing fun things together. On the weekends, we enjoy outdoor activities like hiking, camping, picnics and going to the beach. We often take day trips to see seasonal things like wild flowers in the spring and apple orchards in the fall. When we take longer vacations, we enjoy discovering new places. Together, we’ve taken trips to Costa Rica, Jamaica, and Mexico and we dream of exploring new places around the world with our child.

About Alison
I grew up and went to law school in Southern California. I went to law school because I’m committed to making the world a better place for our children and I do a lot of volunteer legal work with chronically ill adults and kids in foster care. I’m working on starting my own law firm so I will always have a flexible schedule to take care of our child.

In my free time, I like going to yoga classes and window shopping. I also really like handmade things. When I was growing up, my mom taught me how to sew and when I was in law school, I taught myself how to knit. I’ve knitted our baby a beautiful sunshine yellow blanket, and I’m working on a brightly colored quilt for his or her room. Sometimes, Jeremy wants to help, so he will cut quilt squares for me. My mom made baby clothes for me, and I will definitely do the same for our child.

About Jeremy
I grew up in Alabama and moved to California after I finished medical school. Now, I’m a critical care and lung doctor so I treat patients who are really sick and have trouble breathing. One good thing about my job is I’m home by late afternoon and I don’t work many weekends so I’ll have plenty of time to spend playing with and teaching new things to our child.

When we aren’t doing anything special on the weekends, I like to fix stuff around the house and yard. We have a lime tree (named Leroy) and I like growing different kinds of tomatoes and herbs. In the summer, I always make salsa with all our home-grown tomatoes. I imagine myself being a “Home Depot” Dad, and look forward to teaching our child how to grow herbs, flowers and vegetables.

In my free time, I like going to the gym and playing video games. During the fall and winter, I enjoy watching football. When I first met Alison, she’d never seen a football game or touched a football. It took a couple seasons, but now she knows the rules and she can throw a football pretty far. Now, I think we’ll both be able to teach our child how to play football.

Our Home
We live in a cheerful four-bedroom house in a kid-friendly neighborhood in Northern California. Our home has plenty of room to play both inside and out: the backyard already has a built-in playhouse! The school district ranks among the top in the state and we live across the street from a giant sports park. The sports park has three playgrounds, two soccer fields, four baseball diamonds and a football field. We love walking over there to play and we can’t wait to take our child there.

We share our home with a gray miniature rescue poodle named Granite. He’s friendly and gentle, and loves playing with kids. Alison enjoys taking Granite for hikes and walks and Jeremy taught Granite to play catch. When it’s raining, Jeremy throws the ball down the hall in our house so Granite can chase after it. Granite will really enjoy having a human brother or sister to play ball with.

Mealtimes are special to us and we take turns making delicious dinners. Alison likes to make Asian food and deserts. Alison spent two years living in Asia and learned how to make things like Pad Thai, Indian curries and stuffed Chinese buns. Alison also bakes seasonal deserts, like heart shaped cookies for Valentine’s Day and miniature pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving. Jeremy likes to make Italian food. He and his mom, Kim, took an Italian cooking class together and learned how to make crispy pizza crusts and decadent tiramisus. Jeremy is also a grill-master and enjoys thinking up creative burger toppings. We are excited about sharing our love of cooking and baking with our child, and we imagine making him or her sand-dollar pancakes, little sliders and cupcakes to take to school.

Thank you for taking the time to read our letter and considering us as possible adoptive parents for your baby! We are committed to providing your baby unconditional love, support and guidance. We also believe that he or she should always know and feel your love and we will do everything we can to facilitate that.

We know that whatever decision you make will be the right one for you and your baby. We wish you nothing but peace and strength.

Alison and Jeremy